Climate Adaptation

CLIMATE ADAPTATION

I want to punch climate change in the face. A blog about the interactions between the built environment, people, and nature.


about.me - FAQs - Follow - Face - Ask - Donations - Climate Book Store


transportationnation:

How Christmas Island protects red crabs during their annual migration: overpasses, underpasses, and a lot of people raking them off the roads.

Not clever infrastructure that deals with a nuisance, it’s a community support system for unique natural resource. This is how towns and national governments can work together to live with nature.

Evangelical Christians reconsider denying climate change

One of the roadblocks to climate change becoming a nonpartisan issue, and to opening up more ears to the science … is the evangelical community’s lack of strong hierarchical leadership. There are influential people like Cizik, but unlike with other faith traditions, there is no pope, archbishop or other central figure that everyone can look to.

"We have this leadership vacuum that I think has been filled with conservatives who aren’t necessarily Christian. People get their opinions from AM talk radio, or from Fox News," Hayhoe told HuffPost.

"This is also a generational issue. If you talk to the average 20- or 30-year-old, you might get a very different perspective," she added.

Anna Jane Joyner and her father, Rick Joyner, an evangelical megachurch preacher, exemplify that age gap.

Via HuffPo (Forgive me readers, this is a rare time I link to HuffPo!)

Living on Earth: Maple Syrup and Climate Change
Obama admin sued for dragging feet on studies of climate impacts

Clever, but I don’t think the CEQ has authority to enforce a NEPA regulation. Any 2Ls out there?

Obama administration to agencies: Make your scientific research open source
The Office of Science and Technology Policy (OSTP) hereby directs each Federal agency with over $100 million in annual conduct of research and development expenditures to develop a plan to support increased public access to the results of research funded by the Federal Government.
This includes any results published in peer-reviewed scholarly publications that are based on research that directly arises from Federal funds, as defined in relevant OMB circulars (e.g., A-21and A-11). It is preferred that agencies work together, where appropriate, to develop these plans.
We're hiring! Several positions with USAID!

Readers, we’re hiring. See the list below. Important: on this round of hiring, these are mid-career to senior-level jobs (7-10+ years international experience). So, no students, no internships, no recent grads (sorry!).

We implement projects for USAID, primarily on environmental contracts in developing countries around the world.

Contact me if you find a position that you think you qualify for. I can help. I can not reply if you fail to research the position first. You have to do the leg work before contacting me. So, read the job descriptions; if you think you qualify, only then contact me asap.

You can view our openings on our career page by searching keyword “USAID” here:  https://careers-engility.icims.com/

 Home office positions:

 Business Development Associate-  https://careers-engility.icims.com/jobs/6827/business-development-associate/job

Senior Proposal Writer -https://careers-engility.icims.com/jobs/6721/senior-proposal-writer,-usaid-proposal-development/job

Proposal Manager - https://careers-engility.icims.com/jobs/6541/proposal-manager,-international-development/job

Contracts Manager (2 openings) - https://careers-engility.icims.com/jobs/6453/contracts-manager,-usaid-contracts-management/job

BD Manager, EEM -  https://careers-engility.icims.com/jobs/6146/business-development-manager,-energy-and-environmental-management-(eem)/job

BD Manager R&R - https://careers-engility.icims.com/jobs/7061/business-development-manager,-relief-and-reconstruction/job

Practice Area Team Lead Water - Sr. Water Specialist -  https://careers-engility.icims.com/jobs/6810/senior-water-specialist,-environment-and-natural-resources/job

Practice Area Team Lead Agriculture and Food Security - https://careers-engility.icims.com/jobs/6114/practice-area-team-leader—-agricultural-enterprise-and-food-security/job

Sr Associate, Agriculture Value Chains -  https://careers-engility.icims.com/jobs/5400/senior-associate—-agriculture-value-chains/job

 Project based openings:

Contract Manager Pakistan PDP -  https://careers-engility.icims.com/jobs/6536/contracts-manager,-pakistan-power-distribution-program/job

DCOP, B-LEADERS, Philipines -  https://careers-engility.icims.com/jobs/4803/deputy-chief-of-party-(dcop)—-philippines/job

Frameweb Knowledge Management Specialist -  https://careers-engility.icims.com/jobs/6008/knowledge-management-specialist,-frameweb-community-manager/job

 Proposal/Contingent Openings:

M&E/ Comms Director, Rwanda - https://careers-engility.icims.com/jobs/5837/monitoring-and-evaluation-and-communications-director/job

Energy Trading Policy Expert -  https://careers-engility.icims.com/jobs/6145/energy-trading-policy-expert/job

Chief of Party, Pakistan CAP -https://careers-engility.icims.com/jobs/5981/chief-of-party—-pakistan-commercial-agriculture/job

Chief of Party, Citizen Security Program-   https://careers-engility.icims.com/jobs/6715/chief-of-party—-citizen-security-program/job

Chief of Party, OTI-  https://careers-engility.icims.com/jobs/6437/chief-of-party,-usaid-office-of-transition-initiatives/job

Chief of Party, Timor Leste-   https://careers-engility.icims.com/jobs/5840/chief-of-party—-timor-leste/job

Chief of Party, Haiti Feed the Future - https://careers-engility.icims.com/jobs/6179/chief-of-party—-haiti-feed-the-future/job

Information Unit Manager - https://careers-engility.icims.com/jobs/6170/information-unit-manager/job

Procurement Specialist, Costa Rica -  https://careers-engility.icims.com/jobs/5353/procurement-specialist,-costa-rica/job

Pakistan Ag Senior Technical Expert - https://careers-engility.icims.com/jobs/5983/pakistan-agriculture-senior-technical-expert/job

Evaluation Team Lead  KG-Bishkek -  https://careers-engility.icims.com/jobs/5417/evaluation-team-leader—-ppl-ler/job

Jordan Tourism (COP) JO-[City] - https://careers-engility.icims.com/jobs/5033/jordan-tourism—-chief-of-party-(cop)/job

What is your personal opinion on The Nature Conservancy? Seems like an ideal environmental non-profit to work for.

A question by Anonymous

Hey Anon,

TNC has a great reputation. They have high-turn over though, so they act more as a stepping stone for experienced and mid-level environmental careerists (any readers at TNC? Is this perspective accurate??). I’m also not clear on how successful they are at meeting their mission or campaign goals - though I’m sure this information is readily available on their website.

Cheers,

Michael

This is the biggest scientific climate change report in all of history. Ever." - Mr. Michel Jarraud World Meteorological Organization

IPCC releases its report on climate impacts. Streaming live now. Here.

Livestream of IPCC announcing major new climate change report

Webcast of IPCC press conference (PDF)
YOKOHAMA, Japan, 27 March 2014 – The Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC) is holding a press conference at 08:00 p.m. EST tonight / 09.00 a.m. Yokohama time on Monday 31 March 2014 to present the Summary for Policymakers of the Working Group II contribution to the Fifth Assessment Report.
This press conference will be webcast in English, Japanese and Spanish and can be followed live.
For English go to:
For Japanese go to:
For Spanish go to:
For original go to:

Notes for editors

The IPCC is considering the Working Group II contribution to the Fifth Assessment Report, dealing with impacts, adaptation and vulnerability, in Yokohama, Japan, on 25-29 March 2014. The Summary for Policymakers and full report will be released on 31 March. The full report will be published online in August and in book form a few months later.
The Working Group I contribution, on the physical science basis of climate change, was released on 27 September 2013 and the full report published on 30 January 2014. The Working Group III contribution will be considered by the IPCC in Berlin on 7-11 April 2014. The Fifth Assessment Report will be completed with the Synthesis Report that will be considered by the IPCC in Copenhagen on 27-31 October 2014.

Former archbishop of Canterbury reveals global climate change fears

Dust devil on fire (warning, bad music). Imagine a mini-tornado with flaming tumbleweeds set to metal (well, don’t imagine, because it’s right here^).